Würth 通过 NiceLabel 改造了供应商标签

挑战

  • 供应商标签流程低效
  • 自主研发的标签系统使IT维护面临挑战
  • 标签错误导致产品重新贴标签运输延误

解决方案

  • 标签云提供适用于供应商的网络打印系统
  • 全面的SAP集成
  • WS1就绪标签系统

Benefits

  • 目前在15个国家的180家供应商使用NiceLabel系统
  • 集中化的用户管理和记录提供清晰的总览
  • 快捷更改标签,提高敏捷性
  • 加快新供应商上线

第5页

创建高效精确的
供应商标签流程

请求咨询

Würth使用NiceLabel创建标准化的供应商标签流程。

背景

Würth集团从事的核心业务是紧固件和组装材料的销售,是该领域的全球市场领导者。目前,它在80多个国家有400多家公司,共有超过77,000名员工。1994年,集团创建了Würth IT,这是一家全球性的IT服务提供商,为80个国家/地区的400多家公司提供IT支持。Würth IT的目标是帮助集团实现数字化流程的现代化系统和创新解决方案。为此, Würth IT推出了Würth System One(WS1),一个基于SAP的企业资源计划系统。WS1是Würth 集团企业管理的基础,支持包括与物流和生产(包括标签)在内的许多系统接口。最终,整个集团将全面上线此系统。 

行业: 制造业
解决方案: NiceLabel LMS

挑战

原有系统使供应商标签流程面临挑战

Würth IT一直在寻求标签流程标准化的方法,但是其当前的标签系统存在一些挑战。“我们的标签解决方案是由一家只有几名员工的小公司定制的,”项目负责人/经理Simon Koch说,“该系统是在他们既有的标签软件上开发。它由本地安装的数据库、标签设计软件和标签打印界面组成。一切都用CD在本地安装,并且每次对软件进行更新时,我们都必须将包含更新内容的新CD发送给所有供应商。”

这种方法给Würth IT团队带来了多重挑战。首先,手动更新过程导致无法全面了解Würth 供应商所使用的标签软件版本。“由于拥有如此众多的用户,因此无法追踪谁在使用哪个系统版本。 ”Simon解释说,“当我们发送更新版本时,一些CD会在运送过程中丢失,而一些合作伙伴会继续使用老旧的版本。 ”

其次,这套自主研发的系统面临支持工作上的难题。原来的系统开发人员已不在公司工作,这意味着很多原始的系统知识已经丢失。设计该软件的公司随后被另一家软件公司收购。代表其标签系统背后原公司的系统技术已经不复存在。这些挑战导致他们未来对该平台的维护能力感到担忧。

Würth 同时对原有系统经常发生的很多问题也很挣扎。他们经历过标签信息错误的情况,导致产品需要重新粘贴标签。这意味着装运延误。他们也出现过因缺少重打标签数据而造成更严重的延误情况。

所有这些情况使Würth 做出总结,他们需要寻找另一种标签解决方案。他们的需求很明确。“我们想要一个系统,它能够每天24小时工作,可以提供一个集中式数据库,无需安装即可提供给我们的供应商,并且可以适用各种打印机品牌和型号。 ”Simon回忆说。对于供应商而言,新标签系统可以沿用供应商现有的打印设备极为重要。

每次对软件进行更新时,我们都必须将包含更新内容的CD发送给所有供应商。

Simon Koch,
项目负责人/经理

解决方案

从手动更新到无缝网络打印

Würth将NiceLabel的网路打印解决方案导入供应商标签管理系统。在15个国家里的大约180个供应商正在使用NiceLabel的网络打印解决方案。“我们的供应商对旧系统不满意, ”Simon评论说,“他们知道那不是最佳选择。”通过使用类似旧系统的逻辑, NiceLabel的技术确保了新系统转移的顺利。该系统结合10个与NiceLabe对接的模版设计。截至2018年9月, Würth 的供应商每年使用NiceLabel的网络打印系统的打印数量约850万个标签。

现在,当我们更改标签时,它们会立即得到部署,因此我们供应商的标签永远是最新的。

Simon Koch,
项目负责人/经理

Benefits

标签更改速度更快,使得灵活性更高

导入基于网络的标准化解决方案提升了Würth 系统的灵活性。通过包含所有标签信息的集中式数据库, Würth 可以确保任何更改能够即时反映在其全球供应商网络中。“现在,当我们更改标签时,它们会立即得到部署,因此我们供应商的标签始终是最新的,” Simon说道,“这是新系统的最大优势。我们可以非常迅速地做出反应,并更快地部署变更。 ”

集中化提供了清晰的总览

Würth IT还受益于集中化的用户管理和记录保存的优点。他们能够纵览各供应商系统登入情况,并保留完整的打印历史记录。网络打印解决方案还可以确保用户始终使用正确的标签解决方案。

加快新供应商上线

NiceLabel还帮助Würth 改善了供应商的上线流程。“供应商希望首先拥有一个试用版本,以确定该软件是否与他们的内部基础架构兼容, ” Simon说道。通过使用NiceLabel的云版本NiceLabel平台,供应商可以轻松地获得对系统的访问权限,他们可以在正式部署私有云之前熟悉全部功能。他解释说:”有了云服务,他们只需要5分钟就可以访问该平台,如果他们决定使用该平台,我们可以将它们转移到我们的私有云系统中。”

从基于CD的安装过程到网络驱动的安装过程,极大地减轻了Würth IT的负担。

供应商标签系統成功的关键

Simon解释了为何拥有一个让供应商快速上线的流程对Würth 的业务如此重要。“从采购角度来看,我们的目的让供应商出货给我们的货物可直接出售 ,收到货时即采用Würth的合规包装盒包装及标签。我们越是简化他们的标签打印工作,他们就可以通过系统以正确方式发货给我们的可能性就越大。 ”NiceLabel解决方案使供应商的上线过程变得快速、轻松。“有了NiceLabel,一个电话就可以获得供应商的联系方式,半小时后,供应商便可以使用该平台,打印标签等待发货,并以合规的方式贴到货物。 ”NiceLabel与Würth IT合作,还开发了其他标签打印解决方案,以满足Würth的包装盒和货架标签需求。

全面的SAP集成,轻松打印包装盒标签

为了满足Würth 的包装盒标签打印需求, NiceLabel团队开发了与Würth SAP上的WS1系统集成。他们可以通过三种方式出发打印,即通过SAP 用户界面、便携打印机、或者通过SAP界面启动NiceLabel打印表单并传输数据。这种集成意味着NiceLabel解决方案可用于WS1,一旦该集团所有公司切换到经批准的WS1系统,就可以实现Würth 集团所有公司的标签需求。

强化Würth 的 ORSY®系统

屡获殊荣的ORSY货架系统是Würth为其零售客户商店提供的一项服务。Würth将金属货架交付给客户,这些金属货架安装在客户的经营场所(在他们的店铺或仓库中),然后储存Würth 的产品。Würth 的销售代表负责整个安装和设置过程,包括打印Würth 标签(一个被称为签名的过程)并将其放在货架上。由于此项安装是在现场完成的,当销售代表必须打印标签时,销售代表不一定总是能连网。销售代表使用便携打印机,他们可以直接在客户现场打印标签。NiceLabel团队配置了一个标签软件版本,它能够与本地SQL数据库配合使用,并通过网络打印数据库更新信息。使用NiceLabel软件的离线解决方案具有其优势。“事情比过去更加顺畅,” Simon评论说,“我们的现场工作人员现在可以使用NiceLabel软件中的功能,使他们能够比使用以前的软件更快地打印标签。”

展望未来

自2010年以来, Würth IT与NiceLabel合作开发了一个全球标签平台,可以满足该集团当前和未来的需求。这为 NiceLabel成为整个Würth 集团的官方标签平台奠定了基础。

我们的现场工作人员现在可以使用NiceLabel软件中的功能,使他们能够比使用以前的软件更快地打印标签。”

Simon Koch,
项目负责人/经理

使用集中化的用户管理,
获得供应商标签的完全透明度

请求咨询

第2页

继续了解相关的故事

投资回报期不到4个月

西门子在其全球各大工厂实施标签标准化,将效率提升到新高度
制造业 | SAP | 电子

西门子将其全球工厂的标签作业标准化,在实现初始投资回报后,持续带来节省。

了解更多 >

减少标签模板

Chr.Hansen如何对标签进行现代化改造,简化经验证的系统流程,并与SAP集成
医药 | 制造业 | 食品和饮料 | SAP

Chr. Hansen 如何通过标签现代化改造来简化流程,并实现与系统的 SAP 集成

了解更多 >

过敏原管理更轻松

Swiss food manufacturer uses NiceLabel to standardize labeling
制造业 | 食品和饮料 | SAP

瑞士食品制造商,Coop 通过 NiceLabel 标准化标签以实现合规。

了解更多 >
Download PDF
PDF

Wurth 案例研究

​了解Würth如何使用NiceLabel创建标准化的供应商标签流程......

下载PDF文件

Würth transforms supplier labeling with NiceLabel

Challenges

  • Inefficient supplier labeling process
  • Homegrown labeling system made IT support a challenge
  • Label errors led to product relabeling and shipping delays

The Solution

  • Web printing and Label Cloud for supplier labeling
  • Full SAP integration
  • WS1-ready labeling system

Benefits

  • 180 suppliers in 15 countries now using the NiceLabel system
  • Centralized user management and recordkeeping provides a clear overview
  • Increased agility through faster label changes
  • Faster onboarding of new suppliers

Slide5

Create an efficient and accurate
supplier labeling process

Request a consultation

Würth uses NiceLabel to create a standardized supplier labeling process.

Background

The Würth Group is the global market leader in its core business - the sale of fastening and assembly materials. It currently consists of more than 400 companies in over 80 countries with over 77,000 employees on its payroll. In 1994, the Group created Würth IT, a global IT service provider supporting all 400+ companies in 80 countries. Würth IT’s goal is to invest in modern systems and innovative solutions that can help digitize the Group’s processes. To achieve this goal, Würth IT has introduced Würth System One (WS1), an enterprise resource planning system based on SAP. WS1 forms the foundation for Würth Group’s enterprise management, and includes interfaces to a number of support systems within logistics and production, including labeling. In time, the entire Group will use this system. 

Industry: Manufacturing
Solution: NiceLabel LMS

Challenges

Legacy system makes supplier labeling challenging

Würth IT was looking to standardize their labeling, yet their current labeling system had its challenges. “We had a labeling solution that was custom-built by a small company with only a few employees,” relates Simon Koch, Project Lead/Manager. “The system was based on labeling software they had programmed. It consisted of a locally installed database, label design software and a label print interface. Everything was installed locally with CDs, and every time we had an update to the software, we would have to send new CDs with the updates to all of our suppliers.”

This approach created multiple challenges for the Würth IT team. First, the manual updating process made it impossible to have an overview of which label software version Würth’s suppliers were using. “With such a large number of users, it was impossible to keep track of who was using what version of the system,” Simon explains. “Some CDs would get lost in transit when we were sending updated versions and some partners would continue to use outdated versions.”

Second, the homegrown system was a challenge to support. The original system programmer was no longer with the company, meaning that much of the original system knowledge had been lost. The company that designed the software was subsequently acquired by another software company. This meant the company behind their labeling system technically ceased to exist. This raised additional concerns about their ability to support the platform in the future.

Würth also struggled with many of the typical challenges related to legacy systems. They experienced misapplied labels, which led to relabeling of products, meaning delays in shipping. They also had delays due to lack of data.

All of these developments led Würth to the conclusion that they needed to find another labeling solution. Their requirements were quite clear. “We wanted a system that would be available round-the-clock, that could offer a centralized database, that we could provide to our suppliers without installation and that could deal with various printer brands and models,” recalls Simon. It was crucial to supplier adoption that the new labeling system could use the supplier’s existing printing infrastructure.

Every time we had an update to the software, we had to send new CDs with the updates to all of our suppliers.

Simon Koch,
Project Lead/Manager

The Solution

From manual updates to seamless web printing

Würth implemented NiceLabel’s web printing solution for their supplier labeling. Approximately 180 suppliers in 15 countries are using NiceLabel’s web printing solution. “Our suppliers weren’t pleased with the old system,” comments Simon. “They knew it wasn’t optimal.” By using logic similar to the one used in the old system, NiceLabel was able to ensure a smooth transition to the new system. The system contains 10 label layouts that were designed in cooperation with NiceLabel. As of September 2018, Würth’s suppliers print approximately 8.5 million labels a year using NiceLabel’s web printing solution.

Now, when we make label changes, they’re deployed instantly, so our suppliers’ labels are always up-to-date.

Simon Koch,
Project Lead/Manager

Benefits

Faster label changes leads to greater agility

Introducing a web-based, standardized solution has had a big impact on Würth’s agility. With a centralized database containing all label information, Würth can ensure that changes are quickly rolled out across their supplier network. “Now, when we make label changes, they’re deployed instantly, so our suppliers’ labels are always up-to-date,” Simon relates. “That is the biggest advantage of the new system. We can react very quickly and deploy changes faster.”

Centralization provides a clear overview

Würth IT also benefits from centralizing user management and record keeping. They always have a complete overview of the suppliers accessing the system and a complete print history. The web printing solution also ensures users are always using the correct version of the labeling solution.

Faster onboarding of new suppliers

NiceLabel has also helped Würth improve their supplier onboarding process. “Suppliers like to have a trial version first, to see if the software works with their internal infrastructure,” Simon relates. By using NiceLabel’s Cloud version of the NiceLabel platform, suppliers have an easy way of gaining access to the system, so they can familiarize themselves with its functionality prior to a full-scale private Cloud implementation. “With Cloud, it only takes 5 minutes for them to get access to the platform, and then, if they decide to work with it, we can transfer them to our private Cloud system,” he explains.

Going from a CD-based installation process to a web-driven one has significantly eased the burden on Würth IT.

The key to successful supplier labeling

Simon explains why having a smooth onboarding process for suppliers is so crucial to Würth’s business. “From the purchasing point of view, our intention is always that the suppliers deliver the goods to us in a way that we can sell them – packed with our Würth boxes and branded with our labels. The easier we make it for them to print our labels, the greater the likelihood that they will use the system and ship goods to us in the right way.” The NiceLabel solution makes the supplier onboarding process quick and painless. “With NiceLabel, it’s one phone call, get their contact details, and half-an-hour later the supplier has access to the platform, can print labels and is ready to go and deliver goods to us in the right way.” Working together with Würth IT, NiceLabel has also developed other label printing solutions that address Würth’s box and rack labeling needs.

Full SAP integration for easy box label printing

To meet Würth’s box label printing needs, the NiceLabel team developed an integration with Würth’s WS1 system, which is based on SAP. They can trigger printing in three ways, via the SAP GUI, via a mobile printer or where the SAP GUI launches a NiceLabel form and transfers the data. This integration means that NiceLabel is a WS1-ready solution, which can be implemented to meet the labeling needs of all companies in the Würth Group, once they are transitioned to the approved WS1 system.

Powering Würth’s ORSY® system

The award-winning ORSY rack system is a service Würth provides for its retail customers’ stores. Würth delivers the metal racks to the customers, which are installed on the customer’s premises (in their shop or warehouse) and then stocked with Würth’s products. Würth’s sales representatives handle the entire installation and set-up process, including printing Würth labels (a process called signing) and placing them on the racks. However, since this installation is done in the field, it’s not always possible for the reps to be online when they have to print labels. The reps use mobile printers so they can print labels directly at the customer. The NiceLabel team configured a version of the labeling software that works with a local SQL database and uses an updating tool to update the information against the web printing database. Using an offline solution based on NiceLabel software has its advantages. “Things work much more smoothly than in the past,” comments Simon. “Our field staff now have access to functions within the NiceLabel software that enable them to print labels faster than they could with the previous software.”

Looking to the future

Since 2010, Würth IT has worked with NiceLabel to develop a global platform for labeling that will meet the Group’s current and future needs. The foundation is set for NiceLabel to be the official labeling platform for the entire Würth Group.

Our field staff now have access to functions within the NiceLabel software that enable them to print labels faster than they could with the previous software.”

Simon Koch,
Project Lead/Manager

Gain full transparency into supplier labeling
with centralized user management

Request a consultation

Slide2

Keep exploring related stories

ROI in less than 4 months

Siemens standardizes labeling across its global factories to drive new levels of efficiency
Manufacturing | SAP | Electronics

Siemens standardizes labeling across its global factories to deliver savings beyond initial ROI.

Learn more >

Reductionof label templates

How Chr. Hansen modernized labeling to streamline processes and SAP integration with a validated system
Pharmaceutical | Manufacturing | Food and beverage | SAP

How Chr. Hansen modernized labeling to streamline processes and SAP integration with a validated system

Learn more >

Allergens managed easily

Swiss food manufacturer uses NiceLabel to standardize labeling
Manufacturing | Food and beverage | SAP

Swiss food manufacturer, Coop standardizes labeling with NiceLabel to achieve compliance.

Learn more >
Download PDF
PDF

Wurth Case Study

​Learn how Würth created a standardized supplier labeling process with NiceLabel...

Download pdf