Knowledge Base

Unlocking the locked out users in the Control Center V2017

Problem

By default, with no user management enabled each user is the administrator and has full access to all functionalities.

If you enable user login, you can accidentally lock yourself out of the administrative user group. You might not be able to use the NiceLabel software or you have limited permissions in Control Center.

Solution

You can disable the user authentication for your NiceLabel software. The following steps require that you have the administrative permissions on the Control Center MS SQL server. 

  1. Open SQL Server Management Studio.
    The Management Studio should be installed on the server where you installed SQL Server. If you do not find it, you have two possibilities. (1) Run SQL Server installation again and add the SQL Server Management Studio component, or (2) Run SQL Server Management Studio on some other computer and use it to connect to the MS SQL Server with Control Center database.
  2. Log in with the user that has administrative permissions to this MS SQL server.
  3. Navigate to: Databases > NiceAN > Tables.
  4. Locate the table nan.AuthenticationSettings.
  5. Right-click the table and select Open Table.
    There is one record in the table.
  6. Change the value for the AuthenticationMode field to 1.
    Make sure the change in the field is stored. Move the selection out of the selected record.
  7. Close the SQL Server Management Studio.

When you disable the authentication for NiceLabel software, each user becomes an administrator in the Control Center, so you can correct the authentication settings and user permissions to normal levels.

Do not forget to re-enable the user authentication in the Control Center Configuration.

For reference, authentication mode can have the following values:
1: no authentication
2: Windows authentication
3: Application authentication
4: Mixed (Windows and Application authentication)
Control Center cannot use mixed authentication. If mixed mode is chosen, Control Center falls back to Windows authentication.

Print document   Email document

Feedback

Did this article help you? *