工厂使用 NiceLabel 进行标签数字化转型

挑战

  • 数不清的标签模板和标签变体
  • 低效的打印过程
  • 不安全的模板导致标签错误
  • 手工质量保证流程,使得防误差工作挑战重重

解决方案

  • NiceLabel 标签管理系统
  • NiceLabel 标签设计器
  • 文档管理系统
  • 使用 NiceLabel Automation 模块与 WMS 集成

结果

  • 将错误数从每月 10-15 起减少为零
  • 将标签打印时间从过去仅找到标签就得花1-2分钟,缩短到从标签选择到打印标签整个过程仅需10秒
  • 将标签模板数从12,000个减少到50个
  • 使用 NiceLabel 后,每周节省 20-30 个工时

第5页

用数字说话


误差
​该公司消除了因手工输入数据导致的误差。

10

从标签选择到标签批量打印,整个标签打印作业时间从 1-2 分钟缩短为 10 秒

50个模板
12000 个 Microsoft Word 文档减少至仅仅 50 个标签模板。

第2页

标签数字化转型将减少
标签错误并提高效率。

获得免费咨询

背景

该公司生产生物技术产品并销售给分销商。

该工厂平均每天给 1600 次发货贴标签。大多数客户对每种标签类型都有单独的规格。仓库使用两套 IT 系统来处理订单和标签:一个仓库管理系统(WMS)和一个企业资源规划系统(ERP)。

行业: 生物技术,制造业
解决方案: NiceLabel LMS

挑战

手工流程严重影响效率

实施 NiceLabel 之前,客户一直受到因采用手工流程而导致出错频繁和低效率的困扰。正如该工厂的 IT 经理所解释的:“我们在文件/打印服务器上存储了大约 12000 个 Microsoft Word 文档。这些文档包含用于客户的全部的各式标签。我们有 30 多种标签尺寸,因此,这里没有什么是标准化的。”

在仓库包装场所工作的员工必须直接从 Microsoft Word 打印标签。要给一笔客户订单的包装准备标签,他们首先必须在系统中查找该客户,找到该客户的正确标签类型,打开标签,用准确的信息填充这个标签,然后打印标签。由于布局样式太多,员工不得不手动调整打印机以处理样式问题。如果标签尺寸错误或打印机有问题,员工将不得不重做整个过程才能完成必要的修改。“我们估计,对于每笔订单,他们需要花费 1-2 分钟找到对应的标签。这还不包括更改标签尺寸或调整打印机所需的时间。“而且,对每个客户都得重发一遍这个过程,” IT 经理说。

未上锁的模板增加了出错风险

除了这个过程非常耗时之外,员工还必须手工输入及修改标签模板信息。由于标签模板保存在 Microsoft Word 中,任何人都可以对其进行编辑。由于数据输入错误和标签被意外更改,这导致问题频出。“出错风险非常高,因为你可以编辑标签中的文字。由于批号错误、条形码不准确或旧文字未被覆盖,我们出现了很多错误。由于模板没有被锁定,使得所有这些都处于危险之中。”仓库的质量管理团队主要致力于确保入库物料的质量。这意味着,往往在客户发现标签错误之前,他们无法检测到标签错误。由此产生的客户货运重贴标签的费用昂贵,据估算,每月发生 10-15 起错误,这种情况根本无法持续。打印标签的历史记录缺失,也意味着在召回或客户投诉的情况下,标签是无法追溯的。手工流程还意味着没有适当的质量控制流程来处理标签变更请求。

IT 部门决定找到一个可以与现有的 WMS 和 ERP 系统集成的标签管理解决方案来解决这些问题。他们的目标是消除错误、缩短打印时间并提高打印标签的质量。

解决方案

客户使用带有内置标签设计器的 NiceLabel 标签管理系统来创建标签。标签模板上能指定文本字段,以确保每个标签上的标准化格式和信息。所有信息都存储在一个安全的数据库中。NiceLabel 的文档管理系统(DMS)确保该工厂具有适当的变更请求流程,使他们能够轻松部署变更,并在发布到实际生产环境之前,对这些变更进行测试。

现在,用户在 WMS 中有一个打印按钮,该按钮可通过 Web 服务将所有标签信息发送到 NiceLabel Automation 模块。Automation 模块将数据与标签样式合并,然后打印标签。用户不需要进行任何额外的数据输入或选择操作。所有数据都以电子方式从 WMS 传输到标签管理系统

结果

NiceLabel 简化了打印过程,消除了错误

实施 NiceLabel 之后,整个打印过程都得到了简化。“现在,员工可以直接从 NiceLabel 或仓库系统中进行打印,” IT 经理评论道。“客户的所有信息都会自动从 ERP 系统传送到 NiceLabel。所有必要的打印机设置调整都存储在标签中,并传送至打印机,因此不需要手动输入。”完全封闭的过程可确保信息的准确性,并减少由于手工输入数据而导致的误差。实际上,自从 NiceLabel 上线以来,该公司的出错率已从每月 10-15 起减少为零。

数字化带来更高效的运营

客户的另一个目标是减少与标签打印时间。以前仅仅是查找所需的标签就得花费 1-2 分钟,自从实施了 NiceLabel 并实现整个标签打印过程的自动化之后,从选择标签到批量打印标签仅需花费 10 秒钟。公司还实现了标签模板的标准化,这意味着需要维护的模板更少。“我们从 12000 个 Microsoft Word 文档变成了只需 50 个模板。以前我们有大约 30 种规格各异的标签尺寸,现在只有三种。”将大部分手动流程转化为数字化流程之后,好处是显而易见的。“我们估计,使用 NiceLabel 解决方案之后,每周可以节省 20-30 个小时,” IT 经理表示。NiceLabel 的灵活性还意味着该公司仍可以为客户提供所需的标签定制化。“我们的 ERP 系统中有许多不同类型的信息。客户希望有单独的文字和物料号,在这方面 NiceLabel 绝对完美。”

客户和员工看到新系统的价值

实施新的标签系统要求客户和工厂员工都适应新的工作方式。虽然需要一些协商才能让客户接受不同的标签需求方式,但是当他们体验到数字化标签生产过程的准确性和效率更高时,他们很乐意接受这种变化。员工也是如此。一旦员工看到数字化给他们在工作日带来如此大的不同,他们最初对引入全新系统的犹豫便消失了。“在使用 NiceLabel 1-2 周之后,每个人都认识到了这个软件和项目的价值。”

我们估计,使用 NiceLabel 解决方案之后,每周可以节省 20-30 个小时。

IT部门经理

了解您的公司可以通过标签数字化转型实现多少节省

获得免费咨询

第2页

继续了解相关的故事

质量显著改善

制药公司Krka简化流程满足合规要求和标签管理需求
医药 | SAP | 制造业

制药公司Krka简化流程满足合规要求和标签管理需求。

了解更多 >

IT Costs dropped

全球化妆品公司采用云托管标签打印解决方案,在满足 GHS 合规性要求的同时,实现大幅节约成本
制造业 | GHS

Global cosmetics company addresses GHS compliance while realizing significant savings with a cloud hosted label printing solution.

了解更多 >

人工成本降低

Going Beyond UDI Compliance: How LiNA Medical drove process improvement as part of its UDI compliance initiative
医疗器械 | 制造业

LiNA Medical如何推动流程改善以减少工时数,作为其UDI合规行动的一部分。

了解更多 >
Download PDF
PDF

生物技术工厂案例研究

了解该生物技术工厂如何从每月 10-15 起错误变为零,并将整个标签打印时间缩短到 10 秒......

下载PDF文件

Factory digitally transforms labeling with NiceLabel

Challenges

  • Numerous label templates and label variations
  • Inefficient printing process
  • Unsecure templates led to labeling errors
  • Manual quality assurance processes made error prevention challenging

Solutions

  • NiceLabel Label management system
  • NiceLabel Label Designer
  • Document management system
  • Integration with WMS using the NiceLabel Automation module

Results

  • Reduced errors from 10-15 per month to zero
  • Reduced label print time from 1-2 minutes just to locate a label to 10 seconds from label selection to printed label
  • Reduced label templates from 12,000 to 50
  • Saved 20-30 man-hours per week with NiceLabel

Slide5

Results in numbers

zero
errors
​The Company eliminated errors caused my manual data entry.

10
seconds
​Label print job time from label selection to printed batch of labels went from 1-2 minutes to 10 seconds.

50templates
12,000 Microsoft Word documents were reduced to just 50 label templates.

Slide2

​Digitally transforming your labeling will reduce
label errors and drive new levels of efficiency.

Get a free consultation

Background

The company manufactures biotechnology products and sells them to distributors.

On average, this factory labels about 1600 shipments daily. Most customers have individual specifications for each label type. The warehouse uses two IT systems to handle order processing and labeling: a warehouse management system (WMS) and an enterprise resource planning system (ERP).

Industry: Biotechnology, manufacturing
Solution: NiceLabel LMS

Challenges

Manual processes took a toll on efficiency

Prior to implementing NiceLabel, the customer struggled with errors and inefficiency due to manual processes. As the factory’s Information Technology (IT) Manager explains, “We had approximately 12,000 Microsoft Word documents stored on a file/print server. These documents contained all of the various labels we used for our customers. We had over 30 different label sizes, so nothing was standardized.”

Employees working at the warehouse’s packing places would have to print labels directly from Microsoft Word. In order to package a customer order, they would first have to look the customer up in the system, find the correct label type for that customer, open the label, populate it with the correct information, and then print the label. Due to the large number of layouts, employees had to manually adjust the printer to handle the layout www.nicelabel.com in question. If the label was the wrong size or if there was a problem with the printer, employees would have to do the whole process again to make the necessary changes. “We estimated that it took 1-2 minutes to find the labels they needed for each order. That’s not including the time it would take to change the label size or adjust the printer. And this process had to be repeated for each customer,” relates the IT manager.

Unlocked templates increased the risk of errors

In addition to the time-consuming nature of the process, employees also had to enter and modify label template information manually. Since the label templates were kept in Microsoft Word, they could be edited by anyone. Problems arose due to errors in data entry and inadvertent changes to labels. “The risk of errors was very high because you could edit the text in the label. We had a lot of errors because of the wrong lot number, an incorrect barcode or because the article text had been overwritten. All of these things were at risk because the template wasn’t locked.” The warehouse’s quality management team was primarily focused on ensuring the quality of the materials coming into the warehouse. This meant that label errors often weren’t detected until they were discovered by the customer. The resulting relabeling of customer shipments was costly, and at an estimated 10- 15 errors per month, the situation simply wasn’t sustainable. The lack of a printed label history also meant that there was no traceability of labels shipped in case of a recall or customer complaints. The manual process also meant that there was no quality control process in place for processing label change requests.

The IT Department decided to address these issues by finding a label management solution that could integrate with their existing WMS and ERP systems. Their goal was to eliminate errors, reduce printing time and increase the quality of the labels printed.

Solutions

The customer uses the NiceLabel Label Management System, with its built-in label designer, to create labels. The label templates feature defined text fields to ensure standardized formats and information on each label. All information is stored in a secure database. NiceLabel’s document management system (DMS) ensures that the factory has a change request process in place that enables them to deploy changes easily and test these prior to releasing them into the live production environment.

Users now have a print button in the WMS that sends all label information to the NiceLabel Automation module via Web service. The Automation module merges the data with the label layout and prints the label. Users don’t need to do any additional data entry or make any additional selections; all data is transferred from the WMS to the label management system electronically.

Results

NiceLabel streamlines printing process, eliminates errors

After implementing NiceLabel, the entire printing process has been streamlined. “Now employees can print directly from NiceLabel or from our warehouse system,” comments the IT Manager. “All of the customer information is automatically transferred from our ERP system to NiceLabel. All needed printer setup adjustments are stored in the label and transferred to the printer, so no manual input is needed.” The completely enclosed process ensures that the information is accurate and reduces errors due to manual data entry. In fact, the company has gone from 10-15 errors per month to zero errors since implementing NiceLabel.

Digitization leads to a more efficient operation

Another goal the customer had was to reduce the time associated with label printing. Now that they have implemented NiceLabel and automated the entire label printing process, the time for initiating a label print job has gone from 1-2 minutes just to find the label needed to 10 seconds from label selection to printed batch of labels. The company has also been able to standardize the templates they use, which means fewer templates to maintain. “We’ve gone from 12,000 Microsoft Word documents to 50 templates. Before we had about 30 different label sizes; now we have three.” The benefits of transforming a largely manual process to a digitized one are evident. “We estimate that we have saved between 20-30 hours per week with the NiceLabel solution,” states the IT Manager. NiceLabel’s flexibility also means that the company can still offer customers the level of label customization they require. “We have a lot of different types of information in our ERP system. Customers want to have individual text and item numbers, and for this NiceLabel is absolutely perfect.”

Customers and staff see value of the new system

Implementing a new labeling system required both customers and factory employees to adapt to a new way of doing things. While getting customers to accept changes in their label requirements required some negotiation, they were happy to accept the changes when they experienced the improved accuracy and increased efficiency of the digitized label production process. The same was true with the employees. Any initial hesitancy about introducing an entirely new system disappeared once employees could see the difference digitization made in their workday. “After 1-2 weeks with NiceLabel, everyone understood the value of the software and the project.”

We estimate that we have saved between 20-30 hours per week with the NiceLabel solution.

IT Department Manager

Find out how much your company could save by
digitally transforming labeling.

Get a free consultation

Slide2

Explore related stories

The electronic label lifecycle management system that replaced the paper-based compliance system is saving Krka countless man hours, which translates into significant cost reduction.

Anton Skof,
IT Department Manager, Krka

Read success story

NiceLabel has helped us achieve GHS compliance. We now have centralized control and are much more agile which allows us to quickly expand into new global markets.

Supply Chain Manager,
The Customer

Read success story

We can already see the positive impact the system has had on our productivity and transparency, and we expect that those benefits will only increase over time.

Michał Mydlikowski,
Logistics Manager

Read success story

Download PDF
PDF

Biotechnology factory Case Study

​Learn how this biotechnology factory went from 10-15 errors per month to zero and shortened the entire label print time to 10 seconds...

Download pdf