Chr.Hansen如何对标签进行现代化改造,简化经验证的系统流程,并与SAP集成

挑战

  • 定制解决方案的维护成本很高
  • 系统验证成本很高
  • 劳动密集型的标签建置流程
  • 缺乏全年无休的系统支持

解决方案

  • 使用NiceLabel的ABAP软件进行紧密的SAP集成
  • 打印队列功能
  • NiceLabel标签变体技术
  • 全年不间断的系统可用性

Benefits

  • 标签模板减少
  • 标签设计流程更加高效
  • 成功验证标签管理系统服务
  • 2019年底前在全球上线

第5页

IT 系统经理 Joh nny Krogh Soerensen 讲述他们如何通过 NiceLabel 实现标签转型。

MES 集成专家 Arne Svendsen
讲述将标签与MES集成的好处。

对标签系统进行现代化改造,降低标签成本,满足合规性,并消除停机时间。

请求咨询

背景

Chr. Hansen是一家全球生物科学公司,致力于为食品、营养、制药和农业行业提供天然解决方案。他们开发和生产用于多种食品、糖果、饮料、膳食补充剂甚至动物饲料的培养物、酶、益生菌和天然色素。他们拥有全球最大的商用细菌菌种收藏,总数量超过30,000种。Chr.Hansen始建于1874年,在30多个国家/地区拥有3,000多名员工。

标签职能部门是企业的重要环节

Chr. Hansen的生产跟出货流程的标签打印与系统完全整合,是公司生产和运输过程中重要的一环,并且在分销过程中扮演着核心角色。Chr.Hansen的高级项目经理Jens Berth表示:“标签打印流程正常运行,十分关键。”他们每天有大约 3,000 个标签打印请求,他们打印袋子、盒子、包装和运输标签。Chr.Hansen从30个不同的地点打印标签,他们设有一个由标签设计人员、配合专门商务团队,负责与IT、法规部门、法律和生产相关部门联系,创建及维护他们的标签模板。

公司: CHR Hansen
行业: 医药
解决方案: NiceLabel LMS

挑战

标签系统给验证工作带来难题

Chr.Hansen以前的标签系统有其局限性。“系统的运行成本非常高, ”Chr.Hansen全球资讯部门经理Johnny Krough Sørensen说道,“它采用的是15年前的技术,而且是基于一种即用即弃的理念创建。 ”由于Chr.Hansen从事生命科学行业,任何涉及规范流程的软件都必须根据食品药品管理局(FDA)制定的标准进行验证。但是,旧系统是定制的,因此验证成本很高。此外,只有内部用户才能访问该系统,标签创建过程既繁琐又麻烦。

无法提供全年无休的 IT支持

最关键的缺点是Chr.Hansen无法获得生产所需的24小时全年不间断的 IT支持。“确保生产线不停机,是一项至关重要的任务。 ”Jens说道:“每条生产线都有人负责调查生产线停止原因,寻找问题并加以解决。如果一条生产线中断20分钟,高层就会立即打电话关注。 ”

为了解决这些问题, Chr.Hansen开始寻找新标签解决方案。Johnny说: “我们想要真正基于Web的平台、平稳有效的模板设计流程以及可通过验证的标准系统。 ”该系统需要能够提供全球支持和服务、无缝的故障转移系统以及可靠、和不间断的数据交互。

我们想要真正Web的平台、稳定及有效的模板设计流程,以及可通过验证的标准系统。

Johnny Krogh Sørensen
Chr. Hansen 全球 IT 部门 IT 系统经理

解决方案

使用NiceLabel的ABAP软件进行紧密的SAP集成

NiceLabel提供的标签管理解决方案,使用NiceLabel的SAP ABAP软件允许Chr.Hansen的企业资源计划SAP系统紧密集成。NiceLabel的ABAP软件能够确保快速、简单集成导入,这使Chr.Hansen团队感到很高兴。“SAP插件让系统运行良好, ” Jens说道。

Chr.Hansen使用了NiceLabel内置的标签模板批准流程中的延迟发布。标签模板内置于NiceLabel系统中,并可在NiceLabel文档管理系统(DMS)中签核批准。该解决方案将标签信息发送到SAP,以便使用者知道每个打印批次中使用的标签模板、模板变体、版本和数据内容。系统将预先定义好并允许使用的变数列表存储在SAP中,如果使用了未经批准的变量,系统会发出警告。该流程还使他们能够发送针对特定(先前)版本的标签模板或变体的打印请求,此功能在处理退回生产订单时很有用。

网络打印系统可满足延迟的标签打印需求

NiceLabel团队为Chr.Hansen配置了网络打印系统,以适应他们的工作流程。打印系统很重要,因为打印请求永远不会在SAP中创建工作单完成。 “我们有数百名员工一直在SAP中不断处理订单流程, ” Jens说道: “我们通常在实际打印之前一周建立订单,网络打印系统使我们可以打印先前在SAP上建立的标签;这对我们的工作相当重要。 ”

全年不间断的系统可用性

为了满足他们对24/7系统可用性的要求,他们在其位于丹麦Avedøre、德国波尔海姆和美国密尔沃基的工厂中放置了本地NiceLabel服务器。这些服务器与主服务器(位于丹麦的霍斯霍尔姆)同步,即使主服务器离线,标签制作和打印仍然可以继续进行。

NiceLabel变体技术的优点

Chr.Hansen还将NiceLabel专门为生命科学公司开发的变体技术用于其产品中的药品部分(健康和营养)。标签变体是依据特定产品单位(SKU)的实际成品标签,此功能使Chr.Hansen的质量保证(QA)人员能够在打印标签变体之前先行批量审批。标签变体还可以防止在创建标签变体之后对标签内容进行任何未经授权的更改。打印操作员只能更改或输入被允许的可变量栏位,例如批号和生产日期。

我们有数百名員工一直在SAP中不断处理订单流程。我们通常在实际打印之前一周建立订单,网络打印系统使我们可以打印先前在SAP上建立的标签。这对我们的工作相当重要。

Jens Berth
Chr. Hansen 高级 IT 项目经理

Benefits

通过实施 NiceLabel 的标签管理系统,包括其通用标签模板和标签技术,使得 Chr. Hansen 能够减少模板并进行模板整合。“与旧系统相比,我们使用 NiceLabel 进行了大规模的清理。我们确实能够减少使用的模板数量。” Jens 表示。

更好的企业用户体验

新系统还给从事标签设计的人员带来了好处。 “标签设计人员对标签设计感到非常满意, ” Jens说道。“他们喜欢它的功能。与以前的解决方案相比,它提供了更好的用户体验。 ”Johnny表示赞同,他说: “从整体企业支持角度来看也是比之前更好。这是一个有效率的作业流程。我可以比以往更早地发现错误。 ”

验证成功是重要的里程碑

Chr.Hansen还于2019年初实现了一个重要的里程碑,他们成功完成了NiceLabel标签管理系统的验证。虽然他们仍处于将系统推广到整个公司的过程中,但公司有望于2019年底之前全面导入全球所有据点。 “这是Chr.Hansen取得的巨大成功,我们将淘汰以前的标签管理系统”, Jens说道。

第2页

了解您的公司可以通过标签数字化转型实现多少节省

获得免费咨询

第2页

继续了解相关的故事

质量显著改善

制药公司Krka简化流程满足合规要求和标签管理需求
制造业

制药公司Krka简化流程满足合规要求和标签管理需求。

了解更多 >

投资回报期不到4个月

西门子在其全球各大工厂实施标签标准化,将效率提升到新高度
制造业 | SAP | 电子

西门子将其全球工厂的标签作业标准化,在实现初始投资回报后,持续带来节省。

了解更多 >

理想的长期解决方案

通往标准化之路:Bilthoven Biologicals 如何利用 IT 基础设施现代化改造的机会来实施标签过程转型
医药 | SAP

Bilthoven Biologicals如何利用IT基础设施现代化改造的机会来实施标签过程转型

了解更多 >
Download PDF
PDF

CHR Hansen

Chr.Hansen如何对标签进行现代化改造,简化经验证的系统流程,并与SAP集成

下载PDF文件

How Chr. Hansen modernized labeling to streamline processes and SAP integration with a validated system

Challenges

  • Custom-built solution was costly to maintain
  • Costly system validation
  • Labor-intensive label creation process
  • Lack of 24/7 system support

Solutions

  • NiceLabel ABAP package for tight SAP integration
  • Print queue functionality
  • NiceLabel variant technology
  • 24/7 system availability

Benefits

  • Label template reduction
  • More efficient label design process
  • Successfully validated label management system
  • Global rollout by end of 2019

Slide5

Modernize your labeling system to reduce labeling costs, streamline compliance and eliminate downtime.

Request a consultation

Background

Chr. Hansen is a global bioscience company that creates natural solutions for the food, nutritional, pharmaceutical and agricultural industries. They develop and produce cultures, enzymes, probiotics and natural colors for a rich variety of foods, confectionery, beverages, dietary supplements and even animal feed. They have one of the world’s largest commercial collections of bacteria strains, numbering over 30,000. Founded in 1874, Chr. Hansen has over 3,000 employees in more than 30 countries.

Labeling a business-critical function

Labeling is a fully-integrated part of Chr. Hansen’s production and delivery process and plays a central role in their distribution process. “It is really key that the labeling process works,” states Jens Berth, Senior IT Project Manager at Chr. Hansen. They have around 3,000 label print requests per day, and they print pouch, box, packaging and shipping labels. Chr. Hansen prints labels from 30 different locations and they have a dedicated team of label designers, Business Support, who interface with IT, Compliance, Legal and Production functions in order to create and maintain their label templates.

Company: CHR Hansen
Industry: Pharmaceutical
Solution: NiceLabel LMS

Challenges

Labeling system makes validation challenging

Chr. Hansen’s previous labeling system had its limitations. “The cost of running the system was very high,” says Johnny Krogh Sørensen, IT System Manager, Global IT for Chr. Hansen. “It was based on 15-year-old technology and was built on a fire-and-forget philosophy.” As Chr. Hansen operates in the life science industry, any software that touches a regulated process must be validated according to criteria set forth by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). However, the fact that the system was custom-built made it costly to validate it. Additionally, only internal users could access the system, and the label creation process was both tedious and cumbersome.

Inability to provide 24/7 IT support critical

However, the most critical shortcoming was that Chr. Hansen could not get the 24/7 IT support for the system that their production demands. “It’s mission-critical that the production line doesn’t stop,” Jens relates. “Each production line has someone responsible for identifying why the line stops, hunting down the issue and fixing it. If a line is down for 20 minutes, you get a call from upper management.”

To address these issues, Chr. Hansen began the process of finding a new labeling solution. “We wanted true web-based access, a smooth and effective template design process and a standard system ready for validation,” states Johnny. The system also needed to offer global support and service, a seamless failover system and a reliable, consistent data flow.

We wanted true web-based access, a smooth and effective template design process and a standard system ready for validation.

Johnny Krogh Sørensen
IT System Manager, Global IT, Chr. Hansen

Solutions

Tight SAP integration using NiceLabel’s ABAP package

NiceLabel delivered a label management solution that is tightly integrated with Chr. Hansen’s enterprise resource planning system, SAP, using NiceLabel’s SAP ABAP package. NiceLabel’s ABAP package ensured a quick, simple implementation, which pleased the Chr. Hansen team. “It works really well thanks to the SAP plug-in,” Jens relates.

Chr. Hansen uses NiceLabel’s built-in label template approval process with delayed publishing workflow. Label templates are built in the NiceLabel system, and approved in the NiceLabel document management system (DMS). The solution sends label information to SAP, so that they know the label templates, variants, version, and variables used in each print batch. They have a predefined list of allowed variables stored in SAP, and if an unapproved variable is used, they get a warning. This workflow also allows them to send print requests for a specific (previous) version of a label template or variant, which is useful if they need to do a rerun of a production order.

Web printing application meets delayed label printing needs

The NiceLabel team also configured a web printing application for Chr. Hansen to accommodate their way of working. The printing application is important, as labels are never printed at the same time as a work order/print request is created in SAP. “We have hundreds of workers creating process orders in SAP all the time,” relates Jens. “Typically, we create orders one week in advance of the actual printing, so the web printing application lets us print the label job that was previously created by SAP; this is key for the way we work.”

Enabling 24/7 availability

To meet their requirement for 24/7 system availability, they have placed local NiceLabel servers at their plants in Avedøre, Denmark; Polheim, Germany; and Milwaukee, USA. These servers are synchronized with the main server (in Hørsholm, Denmark) so that they can continue to produce and print labels, even when the main server is unavailable.

Taking advantage of NiceLabel’s variant technology

Chr. Hansen also uses NiceLabel’s variant technology, built specifically for life science companies, for the pharma part (Health and Nutrition) of their production. A label variant is the exact finished label for a specific SKU. This functionality enables Chr. Hansen’s QA staff to approve the label variants before they are printed. Label variants also prevent any unauthorized changes to the label content after the variant is created. The print operator can only change or enter a very limited set of variable fields, such as the batch number and production date.

We have hundreds of workers creating process orders in SAP all the time. Typically we create orders one week in advance of the actual printing, so the web printing application lets us print the label job that was previously created by SAP; this is key for the way we work.

Jens Berth
Senior IT Project Manager, Chr. Hansen

Benefits

Implementing NiceLabel’s Label Management System, with its universal label templates and label variant technology, gave Chr. Hansen the opportunity to reduce and consolidate their templates. “We’ve done a huge clean-up with NiceLabel, as opposed to the old system. We’ve really been able to reduce the number of templates we use,” Jens says.

Improved user experience benefits business users

The new system also offers benefits for those working with label design. “The users are very pleased with the Label Designer,” relates Jens. “They like the features it has. It is a much better user experience than the previous solution.” Johnny agrees, “The overview from the business support side is better. It’s a more effective process and I can discover if there’s an error earlier than I could before.”

Successful validation an important milestone

Chr. Hansen also achieved a significant milestone at the start of 2019, when they successfully completed the validation of the NiceLabel Label Management System. They are still in the process of rolling out the system to the entire organization, but the hope is that all locations will be running on NiceLabel by the end of 2019. “This is a huge success in Chr. Hansen and we will retire our former label management system,” states Jens.

Slide2

Find out how much your company could save by
digitally transforming labeling.

Get a free consultation

Slide2

Keep exploring related stories

Quality significantly improved

Pharmaceutical company Krka streamlines compliance and label management
Manufacturing

Pharmaceutical company Krka streamlines compliance and label management.

Learn more >

ROI in less than 4 months

Siemens standardizes labeling across its global factories to drive new levels of efficiency
Manufacturing | SAP | Electronics

Siemens standardizes labeling across its global factories to deliver savings beyond initial ROI.

Learn more >

Ideal long-term solution

The road to standardization How Bilthoven Biologicals used the modernizing of their IT infrastructure to transform their labeling process
Pharmaceutical | SAP

How Bilthoven Biologicals used the modernizing of their IT infrastructure to transform their labeling process.

Learn more >
Download PDF
PDF

CHR Hansen

How Chr. Hansen modernized labeling to streamline processes and SAP integration with a validated system

Download pdf

st