帮助 Boehringer Ingelheim 创建全球标准化的标签流程

挑战

  • 没有全球标准化的标签流程
  • 许多不同的标签系统、标签模板和流程
  • 采用手工流程实施标签变更和质量控制
  • 需要全面的标签历史记录
  • 需要单一来源的标签数据源

解决方案

  • NiceLabel 标签管理系统
  • 使用 NiceLabel ABAP 软件包与 SAP ECC 集成

Benefits

  • 更快地处理变更请求
  • 与 SAP 无缝集成以保证单一数据源
  • 显著降低错误风险
  • 支持全球标准化流程的标签工具

第5页

标准化所有地点的标签作业
以减少错误并满足当地要求

获得免费咨询

背景

Boehringer Ingelheim 是一家家族制药企业,成立于 1885 年。该公司是制药行业前 20 大公司之一,拥有大约 50000 名员工。Boehringer Ingelheim 的三大业务领域是:人类制药、动物保健和生物制药。

Boehringer Ingelheim 的全球 IT 部门负责识别可在公司整个价值链中使用的最佳数字技术。公司的 80 多个生产基地中,每个基地都可以选择使用全球 IT 部门推荐和支持的解决方案。在标签方面,这些工厂可以制作全系列标签,从包装盒、托盘和运输标签到化学和材料标签, 1D 和 2D 条形码以及 RFID。仅在其西班牙圣库加特的一个生产基地中,有七个包装生产线运行,每天发行 4-5 千个标签。

行业: 制造业 | 医药
解决方案: NiceLabel LMS

挑战

没有全球标准化的标签流程

全球 IT 部门必须面对的最大挑战之一,是每个工厂都采用五花八门的各种标签解决方案,这些解决方案由本地业务或工程部门拥有和实施。“我们过去有各种各样的标签模板和流程,还有很多不同的标签工具,”Boehringer Ingelheim IT 运行服务部门的 Pierre Rahm 说。“这些生产工厂使用的是 SAP Interactive Forms、SAPScript、SmartForms 甚至是 PowerPoint。”多样化的标签环境使得实施标签变更的过程成为一场噩梦。Pierre 回忆说:“过去,即使只是要修改一个字段,这种标签变更都变得困难重重。”

满足当地要求

Pierre 说:“越来越多的客户要求,例如跨许多国家/地区的模板需求,促使我们重新思考标签设计流程,并找到了更灵活、更高效地变更标签的方法。”这些客户需求的范围很广,可能包括从特殊类型的条形码到不同的语言、标签信息以及有效期和生产日期的不同格式。

需要数字化的质量控制流程

使用旧系统,给质量保证带来了挑战。例如,一个工厂如果是从 PowerPoint 打印,该工厂将建立一系列的方法,以尝试保护标签信息并防止未经授权的变更。他们制定了“六眼”原则,这意味着必须有三个人检查标签,以确保标签的准确性。此类过程对于尝试捕获错误是必不可少的,但同时也耗费大量人力和时间。

需要一个具有分析和报告功能的系统

另一个挑战是缺少分析和报告功能。“对于是谁在什么时候打印了什么标签,我们并没有一个总览。如果是生产化学品和药品,的确很难在标准 ERP 系统中捕获所有这些信息。”

需要 ERP 集成

Boehringer Ingelheim 还希望与其 ERP 系统进行更高程度的集成。这将使他们能够保证单一的数据来源,消除数据冗余,并在标签上包括数据变量。“我们希望摆脱需要在 SAPscript 中或多或少进行编程(硬编码)的标签,”Pierre 说。“我们目前正在所有工厂引入我们的 Global SAP 系统,因此实施一个全球标签工具更有意义,这个工具就是 NiceLabel LMS。” Pierre Rahm 表示。

我们目前正在全球所有工厂引入我们的SAP 系统,因此实施一个全球标签工具更有意义,这个工具就是 NiceLabel LMS。

Pierre Rahm,
Boehringer Ingelheim 的 IT 运行服务

解决方案

Boehringer Ingelheim 正在使用全系列的 NiceLabel 标签管理系统(LMS) 。他们使用内置的标签设计器来设计标签模板。文档管理系统使他们可以用完全数字化的质量保证流程来取代手工质量控制程序。这为他们提供了所需的安全性、批准工作流、完整的标签修订和打印历史记录。该标签管理系统与他们的 ERP 系统(SAP ECC)集成,因此,他们现在能够以集中化的方式来更新标签信息。

Boehringer Ingelheim 在欧盟、美洲和亚洲三个地区中,每个地区都使用一个三层体系(仅欧盟已实施完毕),其中包括开发系统(DEV)、验证系统(QAZ)和生产系统(PRD)。设计器在 Citrix 上运行,因此可以避免在本地安装设计器。“没有本地化的安装,因此 IT 不需要去碰本地的任何 PC。从一开始,这就是我们最大的目标之一,那就是将系统的各个方面都安装在服务器上,这样每个用户都可以从任何 PC 上访问系统,” Pierre 说。

起初,Boehringer Ingelheim 在其位于英格海姆和圣库加特的生产基地实施了 NiceLabel 标签管理系统。他们计划在 2019 和 2020 年扩展到其他生产基地。下一个将要实施的生产基地在希腊的多特蒙德和科罗皮。之后,将为非生产流程(例如仓库和质量管理)实施此方案。

没有本地化的安装,因此 IT 不需要去碰本地的任何 PC。

Pierre Rahm,
Boehringer Ingelheim 的 IT 运行服务

Benefits

更快地处理变更请求

与以前相比,他们现在可以真正快速地处理变更请求。“最大的优点是,我们的标签变更程序不再有那么多繁文缛节了。使用 NiceLabel 之后,我们可以在文档管理系统中进行全面的标签管理。”现在,质保流程已成为标签管理系统的一部分,这使得 Boehringer Ingelheim 可以节省宝贵的时间和资源,而以前这些时间和资源都是手工质保所必不可少的。

使用 NiceLabel ABAP 软件包与 SAM 无缝集成

Boehringer Ingelheim 还从 NiceLabel ABAP 软件包中受益,该软件包大大简化并加快了集成过程。“对于我们来说,最大的优势是获得了 ABAP 软件包,因此我们能够在 SAP 系统中快速引入标签作业界面。当我们对当前系统进行一些测试时,它与 NiceLabel 的自动化功能结合使用效果非常好,因此,集成功能是我们最大的推动力之一。”

显著降低错误风险

与主数据整合后,Boehringer Ingelheim 获得了梦寐以求的单一数据源。只需确保了变量数据的准确性,那就可以大大降低标签错误的风险。“将 NiceLabel 作为打印工具,将 ERP 系统作为打印触发器,这确实是理想的解决方案,” Pierre 说。Boehringer Ingelheim 还从 NiceLabel 应用程序构建器的灵活性中受益,这使他们能够设计自己的打印应用程序。“我们很高兴地看到,可以在 NiceLabel LMS 中创建用户界面并构建完整的打印应用程序。这真是太棒了,整个实施过程非常顺利。从我的技术角度而言,拥有这个功能是一件非常了不起的事情,这已经远远超出标签设计。”在回顾 Boehringer Ingelheim 的标签数字化转型方法时,NiceLabel 市场营销副总裁 Ken Moir 表示:“很高兴看到 Boehringer Ingelheim 如何真正使用我们的标签管理系统的方方面面。他们一直非常擅长为公司选择同类最佳的 IT 系统,因此我们很高兴他们选择 NiceLabel 作为其全球标签系统。”

最大的优点是,我们的标签变更程序不再有那么多繁文缛节了。使用 NiceLabel 之后,我们可以在文档管理系统中进行全面的标签管理。

Pierre Rahm,
Boehringer Ingelheim 的 IT 运行服务

第2页

了解您的公司可以通过标签数字化转型
实现多少节省

获得免费咨询

第2页

继续了解相关的故事

减少标签模板

Chr.Hansen如何对标签进行现代化改造,简化经验证的系统流程,并与SAP集成
医药 | 制造业 | 食品和饮料 | SAP

Chr. Hansen 如何通过标签现代化改造来简化流程,并实现与系统的 SAP 集成

了解更多 >

理想的长期解决方案

通往标准化之路:Bilthoven Biologicals 如何利用 IT 基础设施现代化改造的机会来实施标签过程转型
医药 | SAP | 制造业

Bilthoven Biologicals如何利用IT基础设施现代化改造的机会来实施标签过程转型

了解更多 >

质量显著改善

制药公司Krka简化流程满足合规要求和标签管理需求
医药 | SAP | 制造业

制药公司Krka简化流程满足合规要求和标签管理需求。

了解更多 >
Download PDF
PDF

Boehringer Ingelheim 案例研究

了解我们如何帮助 Boehringer Ingelheim 建立全球标准化标签流程。

下载PDF文件

Helping Boehringer Ingelheim create a global, standardized labeling process

Challenges

  • No globally standardized labeling process
  • Many disparate labeling systems, label templates and processes
  • Manual process for implementing label changes and quality control
  • Needed a comprehensive label history
  • Needed a single source of truth for label data

Solution

  • NiceLabel Label Management System
  • Integration with SAP ECC using the NiceLabel ABAP package

Benefits

  • Faster processing of change requests
  • Seamless integration with SAP for single source of truth
  • Significantly lower risk of errors
  • Global labeling tool that can support a standardized labeling process

Slide5

​Standardize your labeling across all sites
to reduce errors and comply with local requirements

Get a free consultation

Background

Boehringer Ingelheim is a family-owned pharmaceutical company, established in 1885. It is one of the pharmaceutical industry’s top 20 companies with some 50,000 employees. Boehringer Ingelheim has three business areas: human pharmaceuticals, animal health and biopharmaceuticals.

Boehringer Ingelheim’s Global IT department is responsible for identifying best-of-breed digital technology that can be used along the company’s entire value chain. Each of the company’s 80+ production sites can choose to use the solutions recommended and supported by Global IT. In terms of labeling, these sites produce the full range of labels, from box, pallet and shipping labels, to chemical and material labels, 1- and 2D barcodes and RFID. In just one of their production sites, in Sant Cugat, Spain, they run seven packaging lines that produce 4-5,000 labels a day.

Industry: Manufacturing | Pharmaceutical
Solution: NiceLabel LMS

Challenges

No globally standardized labeling process

One of the biggest challenges Global IT has to contend with is a wide range of labeling solutions employed by each site, owned and implemented by the local business or engineering. “We had a lot of different label templates and processes, and a lot of different labeling tools,” states Pierre Rahm, IT Operations Services in Boehringer Ingelheim. “Production sites use SAP Interactive Forms, SAPScript, SmartForms and even PowerPoint.” This varied labeling landscape made it a nightmare to implement label changes. “In the past, it was really stressful to change a label, even if it was just one field,” recalls Pierre.

Complying to local requirements

“Increasing customer requirements, such as template requests across many countries, prompted us to rethink our label designing processes and find ways to change labels more flexibly and efficiently,” Pierre says. These customer requests could range from special types of barcodes, to different languages, label information and varying formats for expiry and manufacturing dates.

Need for a digital quality control process

Using legacy systems not designed for label creation also made quality assurance a challenge. As an example, the production sites printing from PowerPoint would create a whole series of workarounds to try to protect label information and prevent unauthorized changes. They instituted a “Six-eye” principle, which meant that three people would have to check the labels to make sure they were correct. These types of procedures were necessary to try to catch errors, but they were also labor-intensive and time-consuming.

Needed a system with analytics and reporting

The lack of analytics and reporting was another challenge. “We didn’t have an overview of who printed what label and at which time. If you are producing chemicals and pharmaceuticals, it’s really hard to capture all of these things in a standard ERP system.”

Needed ERP integration

Boehringer Ingelheim also wanted a higher level of integration with their ERP systems. This would enable them to get a single source of truth, eliminate data redundancies and include variable data on their labels. “We wanted to move away from having labels that are more or less programmed (hard-coded) in SAPscript,” relates Pierre. “We are currently introducing our Global SAP system at all of our sites, so it makes more sense to implement a global labeling tool, which is NiceLabel LMS,” states Pierre Rahm.

We are currently introducing our Global SAP system at all of our sites, so it makes more sense to implement a global labeling tool, which is NiceLabel LMS.

Pierre Rahm,
IT Operations Services in Boehringer Ingelheim

Solution

Boehringer Ingelheim is using the full spectrum of the NiceLabel Label Management System (LMS). They use the built-in label designer for designing label templates. The document management system enables them to replace their manual quality control procedures with a completely digitized quality assurance process. This gives them the security, approval workflows, complete label change and print history that they need. The label management system is integrated with their ERP system, which is SAP ECC, so they now have a centralized way of updating label information.

Boehringer Ingelheim uses a three-tier landscape for each of its three regions, the EU, Americas and Asia (only the EU has been implemented) consisting of a development system (DEV), validation system (QAZ) for qualifying everything and a production system (PRD). The Designer runs on Citrix, so that they can avoid installing the Designer locally. “There are no local installations, so IT does not have to touch any local PCs. That was one of our biggest aims at the beginning, that we would install each aspect of the system on servers, so every user has the possibility to access the system from every PC,” Pierre says.

Initially, Boehringer Ingelheim has implemented the NiceLabel Label Management System in their production sites in Ingelheim and Sant Cugat. They plan to expand over the course of 2019 and 2020 to their other production sites. The next production sites to be implemented are in Dortmund and Koropi (Greece). The next implementations are planned for non-production processes, e.g. warehouse and quality management.

There are no local installations, so IT does not have to touch any local PCs.

Pierre Rahm,
IT Operations Services in Boehringer Ingelheim

Benefits

Faster processing of change requests

They can now process change requests really quickly as opposed to before. “The biggest advantage is that we no longer have that extensive change procedure with documentation. With NiceLabel, we have complete label management in the document management system.” Now that the quality assurance workflow is an integrated part of the label management system, Boehringer Ingelheim can save valuable time and resources previously dedicated to manual quality assurance tasks.

Seamless SAP integration with the NiceLabel ABAP package

Boehringer Ingelheim has also benefited from the NiceLabel ABAP package that greatly simplifies and speeds up the integration process. “What was a big advantage for us is getting the ABAP package, so that we’re able to rapidly introduce the labeling interface within our SAP system. When we ran some tests with our current systems, it worked well using automation with NiceLabel, so this integration aspect was one of our biggest drivers.”

Significantly lower risk of errors

Having integration with master data gives Boehringer Ingelheim their much-sought-after single source of truth; just knowing that the variable data is correct drastically reduces the risk of labeling errors. “Having NiceLabel as the printing tool and the ERP system as the printing trigger is really the ideal solution,” comments Pierre. Boehringer Ingelheim has also benefited from the flexibility of the NiceLabel application builder, which enables them to design their own printing applications. “We were pleased to see that it is possible to create user interfaces and build complete printing applications, within NiceLabel LMS. That was really good to see, and the implementation went really well. From my technical point of view, it is excellent to have this capability, beyond just designing labels.” When reflecting on Boehringer Ingelheim’s approach to digitally transforming their labeling, NiceLabel VP of Marketing, Ken Moir, commented, “It’s great to see how Boehringer Ingelheim is really using the full spectrum of our label management system. They have a great track record of selecting best-of-breed IT systems for their company, so we’re pleased that they have selected NiceLabel as their global labeling system-of-choice.”

The biggest advantage is that we no longer have that extensive change procedure with documentation. With NiceLabel, we have complete label management in the document management system.

Pierre Rahm,
IT Operations Services in Boehringer Ingelheim

Slide2

Find out how much your company could save by
digitally transforming labeling

Get a free consultation

Slide2

Keep exploring related stories

Reductionof label templates

How Chr. Hansen modernized labeling to streamline processes and SAP integration with a validated system
Pharmaceutical | Manufacturing | Food and beverage | SAP

How Chr. Hansen modernized labeling to streamline processes and SAP integration with a validated system

Learn more >

Ideal long-term solution

The road to standardization How Bilthoven Biologicals used the modernizing of their IT infrastructure to transform their labeling process
Pharmaceutical | SAP | Manufacturing

How Bilthoven Biologicals used the modernizing of their IT infrastructure to transform their labeling process.

Learn more >

Quality significantly improved

Pharmaceutical company Krka streamlines compliance and label management
Pharmaceutical | SAP | Manufacturing

Pharmaceutical company Krka streamlines compliance and label management.

Learn more >
Download PDF
PDF

Boehringer Ingelheim Case Study

Learn how we helped Boehringer Ingelheim create a global, standardized labeling process.

Download pdf