Knowledge Base

Defining default printer setting for all users (including network users)

Problem

When the computer is used as the printer server, you want the same printer settings (for example, printing speed, darkness, use of the ribbon, etc.) to be applied to all of the printing users: users from this computer and users that use the shared printers from their workstations.

Be aware that there are two locations in the printer driver that control the default printer driver settings.

Solution

To change the printer driver defaults for the currently logged in user, do the following:

  1. Open Start > Settings > Printers & Faxes.
  2. Right click printer, select Printing Preferences.
  3. Change the settings.

To change the printer driver defaults for all users and for network users connecting to the shared printer, do the following:

Open Start > Settings > Printers & Faxes.

  1. Right click printer, select Properties.
  2. Go to Advanced tab.
  3. Click Printing Defaults button.
  4. Change the settings.  

 

If you want to, you can also hard-code the printer settings inside each label. Wherever you open such label file, the printer driver on that workstation will be reset to the settings stored in the label file.

Note, that you have to restart your NiceLabel application (whatever you are using) to apply the changes. If you leave NiceLabel running, it will use the cached printer driver settings and will not see the changes you just did.

For more information refer to the KB107: Changing printer driver settings in NiceLabel or the default printer properites in Control Panel.

Print document   Email document

Feedback

Did this article help you? *